The Next YA Trend is…?

I’m not one to follow trends. I like writing in directions that are not over-saturated and that suit the stories that I have in me to tell. Other writers want to find what’s hot and go there to add to the diversity of the trend. I say, whatever works for you (and your readers).

What’s funny to me is that trends are not easy to calculate – you just know when you’re in the middle of them. Take Dystopian YA – Scott Westerfeld had a jump on that type of story, but it took Suzanne Collins to bust it wide open. Now, it’s a whole sub-genre of YA. And we can all tell the tale of Vampire fiction, I’m sure…

So what is the next big trend in YA going to be? Well, that’s hard to say – but I have seen signs in the unpublished world that paranormals where characters can communicate with animals seem to be on more than a few minds. Whether or not it’s a trend that editors will buy is another issue.

I just want to know – where is the hard Sci-fi? Where are the mysteries? There are a lot more places for YA to go that just haven’t been widely visited yet. I’m excited to see what the future holds. Sometimes I think fiction can be like a Field of Dreams – “If you build it, they will come.”

What do you think? What do you see trending now and what do you wish you could see more of?

Hugs,

Heather

Comments
One Response to “The Next YA Trend is…?”
  1. Tez Miller says:

    I want cyborgs, ninjas, and mad science🙂

Leave a Reply

